Love Metal

Love Metal is the fourth studio album by HIM. This one was released on April 11th, 2003. They started recording demos for this album in spring 2002 after they finished up touring from the last album.  They did take a 2-month break while recording this one. On this one, they went back to the producer from their 1st album, Hilli Hiilesmaa. Love Metal also went back to the basics of that raw sound they caught on the 1st one.  This one was when the band really found their sound and when the style of Love Metal was born, which is why they name the album that. Even though I still think it started on the last album.

This was the  1st of their album that didn’t feature Ville on the cover, but only their  Heartagram logo.

Three singles were released from this album including “The Funeral of Hearts”, “Buried Alive by Love”, and  “The Sacrament”. The later 2 had music videos directed by Jackass’s Bam Margera. Also Buried Alive by Love feature Juliette Lewis in the video.

This album line up stayed the same.

  • Ville Valo − lead vocals
  • Mikko “Linde” Lindström − guitar
  • Mikko “Mige” Paananen − bass
  • Janne “Burton” Puurtinen − keyboards
  • Mika “Gas Lipstick” Karppinen − drums

The Tracklist is below.

  1. Buried Alive by Love
  2. Funeral of Hearts
  3. Beyond Redemption
  4. Sweet Pandemonium
  5. Soul on Fire
  6. The Sacrament
  7. This Fortress of Tears
  8. Circle of Fear
  9. Endless Dark
  10. The Path

I really do love the feel of this album. It’s the right amount of that raw sound with the metal that works so perfectly. My favorite tracks on this one are Buried Alive by Love, Soul on Fire, and Circle of Fear. The beats, the words, the fast pace of them are just amazing. I like this one a lot more than the last album.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s