Venus Doom

Venus Doom is the sixth studio album by HIM. Released on September 14th, 2007, the album was recorded in Helsinki, Finland,  and used producers Hiili Hiilesmaa and Tim Palmer. They had both worked on previous albums. The making of this album was during the time Ville was going through personal issues that I won’t talk about out of  respect for him.  However due to that this did become the band heaviest and darkest album, especially since most of the lyrics were inspired by Ville’s life at the time.

The album got the band to the highest position on the US chart at number twelve. It also got them their 1st Grammy nominations for “Best Boxed or Special Limited Edition Package”.  During the summer of 2007, the band toured across the United States as a part of Linkin Park’s Projekt Revolution Tour and opened for Metallica in Europe.

Something that I’ve always found interesting about the album was that the track “Song or Suicide” was recorded at the Chateau Marmont Hotel. Which has become a historic hotel over the years, go ahead and look it up. For the front cover, the band used a painting by artist David Harouni. One that Ville had purchased while on tour in New Orleans. The painting was hanging on his living room wall while he was writing the album, so he felt it was right to use it as the cover art. The title Venus Doom was chosen from Venus being the Roman goddess of love, and doom representing Judgement Day and doom metal. The band line up still stayed the same as it has from the  previous albums. This stuck with their contrasting titles when naming it.

The band line up stayed the same as it had the past few albums.

  • Ville Valo − lead vocals, acoustic guitar on “Song or Suicide”
  • Mikko “Linde” Lindström − guitar
  • Mikko “Mige” Paananen − bass
  • Janne “Burton” Puurtinen − keyboards
  • Mika “Gas Lipstick” Karppinen − drums


  1. Venus Doom
  2. Love in Cold Blood
  3. Passion’s Killing Floor
  4. The Kiss of Dawn
  5. Sleepwalking Past Hope
  6. Dead Lover’s Lane
  7. Suicide or Song
  8. Bleed Well
  9. Cyanide Sun

I really love this album. I think it’s the feeling it gives you of the twisted love that really makes it stick out. It is definitely the darkest album that has which may be why it’s one of my favorites. My favorite tracks are Venus Doom, Love in Cold Blood, and Sleepwalking Past Hope.  They all have this unique addicting sound to them that I just adore.


This is the symbols they used for the name of the album. It supposes to spell Venus Doom. Which I can see the  Doom in the 2nd one. I always come back to this one on my list of tattoos I wanna get. I will get it eventually. If you can’t stop thinking about it then you gotta do it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s